It’s OK to be behind

cc Rob Cottingham http://www.robcottingham.caI

I am noticing that some POT Certification Class participants are doing great work this week, even if they’ve missed some work before. Folks are catching up!

If you’re not one of them, it’s OK. Behind doesn’t matter so much. Yes, we have due dates (each Thursday starts a new week) and no one knows better than I do that stuff can pile up if you don’t get to it.

But if you do plan to get to it, and you really will, that’s OK. Your mentor may ask if everything’s OK, but we’re not here to apply more pressure. Life is pressured enough!

Sure, it’s best if everyone is doing the same thing as the same time, but life doesn’t always work that way, and this is supposed to be life-long learning. Our schedule is to motivate and keep you on task, to provide some structure and a framework for particular topics.

We have a half-way point, where you’re going to show off all your work so far, so think of that as the ultimate deadline. End of the semester. Just like a class you might be teaching.

And in the meantime, enjoy what you’re learning and doing. Playing with some of the tools can be inspiring, especially if your pedagogical goals have already been identified and articulated. Most importantly, those goals are yours. So focus on what forwards your pedagogy, and let the rest get a bit behind.

3 thoughts on “It’s OK to be behind

  1. Thank you for helping us to keep a healthy perspective on this course. Sometimes I feel like there is “too much information,” lacking focus. The posts are so interesting and diverse that it seems like there are twenty conversations going on at once. Since I am new to the online environment, I know that this entire process is helping me to learn, to experience, to try new tools, to think in a new and different way. I’m grateful for this time to experiment, even though it’s taking more time than I imagined, to not just convert a class to an online format, but to actually develop new ideas and techniques for teaching effectively.

    Like

    1. I love this: “I’m grateful for this time to experiment, even though it’s taking more time than I imagined, to not just convert a class to an online format, but to actually develop new ideas and techniques for teaching effectively.” May I quote you, without using your name? I’m doing a research project and this is such a good statement of exactly what we’re trying to do! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.