Presence through video and Voki

Instructor presence, though it can be defined more technically, is a perception that the instructor is there and available to the student during a class. Lately, in addition to my weekly summaries and guidance in the discussion forums, plus announcements and messages with individual students, I’ve also been using two other elements: an introductory video at the beginning of class, and a Voki introduction to each week.

Here’s the introductory video for this coming summer:

http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/i3Oyg-GDmpY?rel=0

Here’s video on how I create my weekly Voki:

http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/nPd7TklVLRg?rel=0&vq=hd720

While both are clearly presentations rather than interactivity, I think the spontaneity is important in encouraging students to see me as a real person at the “other end” of the class. That’s why I prefer cheap and easy methods like these (webcam and iMovie for the video, free Voki for the animation) rather than more “professional” means.

One thought on “Presence through video and Voki

Comments are closed.