The new joy of online lecture

I spend a lot of time creating my online lectures. For previous classes, I’ve written out my lecture, added imaged and embedded video, and recorded my voice reading the lecture. I focus on themes that aren’t in the book, possible interpretations, and telling stories. Here’s one example from my History of Technology class.

But for my most recent class, I decided to make narrated slideshows and upload them, embedding the lecture (with captions possible, of course) in the Canvas page. Here’s an example:

 So, yeah, a lot of work. How do I know they’re viewing it? In my older classes, I created quiz questions that couldn’t be answered with reading or listening to the lecture. But I really was too lazy to do that.

So instead I decided to have them submit “Lecture Notes” in a Canvas quiz. Instructions:

Please submit this week’s lecture notes here. Notes should contain a paragraph about the main point of the lecture (its implied thesis), a full outline of the lecture, and a brief response (something you learned you didn’t know before, something you disagree with, something you found interesting). 

That “brief response” has turned out to be a joy to read. Here’s what I’m getting:

lecturenotes2

lecturenotes1

lecturenotes3

I can use the submission comment to reply directly to each student in SpeedGrader (much speedier now that I’ve implemented James Jones’ QuizWiz Canvancement). I like seeing their learning!